Author Topic: Almost a year ago this nightmare began  (Read 3351 times)

Christy0219

• View Profile
Almost a year ago this nightmare began
« on: September 26, 2011, 11:45:28 AM »
I have never written one of these before so I apologize if I don't do something correctly.  October 1st will be a year ago that my Mom, my best friend, went into the hospital and never came out.  She passed away on February 12th of this year.  I have shut down and pushed away all feelings, emotions,memories of everything that I can for the last year.  I miss her terribly and the only reason I feel like I can get out of bed each day is because of my 2 beautiful children, husband, and God.  Everyone told me to give my grief to God and I know he will soothe me and make me understand and heal, but I'm scared to because I don't know how to and also I'm scared if I ever start mourning and trying to cope I won't be able to stop.  I don't know how to proceed.  I went and visited her graveside for the first couple of months and since I began blocking everything I haven't been there in over 5 months.  I don't go to her house, I can't even write the thank you cards that are so overdue and that really bothers me because of all that so many people did for us and I am scared they think I don't appreciate them.  I feel like I should be much further along than I am when in fact I think I am going backwards.  I am so broken.

browneyedgirl

• nospam
    • View Profile
Re: Almost a year ago this nightmare began
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2011, 02:41:23 PM »
Hi Christy0219 ~

I am so very sorry for the loss of your mother. 

Welcome to Webhealing, you will find a comforting word when you need it, and there are many people who care here. 

Grief is unique to each of us, as we are unique.  Don't set any time limits on yourself.  You have to take it one day at a time - you have suffered a great loss. 

Lots of love to you, and please come back and let us know how you're doing.
Tony Repola 07/20/66 – 03/29/09