Author Topic: Lost my brother 2 weeks ago  (Read 6650 times)

alockern

• View Profile
Lost my brother 2 weeks ago
« on: May 17, 2009, 02:56:47 PM »
I am very new to this.  Don't know where to begin.  I lost my younger brother 2 weeks ago after a very short time of being diagnosed with cancer.   My brother was diagnosed with cancer on April 8, 2009 and died on May 4, 2009.  He rarely missed a day of work. prior to this diagnosis.  He also has a 9 year old son (my nephew) whom I dearly love and had to tell him that his Daddy was dying.

When my brother found out he had less than a month to live (pancreatic, liver, lung and brain cancer) he began his bucket list.  The main item was to go to Disney World.  We were in Disney 3 weeks ago.  My brother, nephew, mom and myself all went and spent a week there.  He was so sick, but he never complained.  He only had 1 1/2 good days.  The other were so wretching with pain.  The moment he stepped off the plane, he began to shut down and preparing to die.  He did what he wanted.  My mother, aunt and I took care of him until his last breathe.  I am 47 and he is 43.  I never imagined that I would have to take care of my brother at such a young age.