Author Topic: Amazing girlfriend of 6 years needs time to heal herself. I'm so lost.  (Read 4582 times)

theox08

• View Profile
I'm extremely new at this and is normally tough for me to open up and express my feelings. My girlfriend and I will have been exclusively dating each other for 6 years come May 29th. We have such strong love for each other, it's truly unreal. I have never seen nor felt love like this is my entire life. My girlfriend grew up in very tough situations. Her mother treated her very poorly growing up and never really stopped the poor treatment until her and I started dating back in 2011. She had a crazy exboyfriend follow her from high school to college. This obviously continued to make her unhealthy so she tried going back home to a different university. Her mental, emotional, and spiritual health got worse. She only spent a semester back at the other university before coming back down to the university we eventually met at. Her first semester back she dedicated to herself and healing yourself. We met halfway through that semester while she was in the middle of healing herself. I knew she had been fighting internal battles but the love we had for each other right from the get go was truly some intense and true feelings. I'll never be able to forget how she makes me feel. Our 6 years together had some ups and downs but overall we both agreed that our love for each other was so truly special and once in a life time. I was not the best at supporting her in the toughest of times, I'll never forgive myself for that, and she told me that not being healthy before she met me made it harder to truly support her. For instance, growing up her Mom would scream and yell at her over the smallest of things. So at times in our relationship when we had arguments, she would yell and scream at me. She would then feel terrible about that because that's not the person she wants to be. So I'm going to fast forward to the present or close to it. At the beginning of 2