Author Topic: Hi Everyone!  (Read 2814 times)

Dena

• nospam
    • View Profile
Hi Everyone!
« on: June 10, 2015, 03:03:11 PM »
Hi everyone!  It saddens me to see so many new names here.  I haven't been on in a while as my life has been filled with changes lately. I changed jobs and I now work in a factory.  I also decided that my weight was slowly doing me in, so I joined Weight Watchers and dropped 98 lbs in a year (yes, I feel much better and still have a little way to go), and I just registered to return to college (my employer pays towards it) to finish up my Bachelors degree and prepare for a Masters in Social Work. I was actively in college at the time Josh died, going for a degree in Psychology.  When he died, I said to myself "If I can't help myself  - how would I be able to help others?" So I dropped out. know that one day, I would return and finish what I had started.  My desire to to be able to help families who have lost a child and I know Josh would be my biggest supporter in that.  Ironically, I am doing my degree online this time with the help of a professor/mentor.  It turns out he was a grief therapist for Hospice AND when I mentioned Tom's name to him, his eyes lit right up and he named his books and said he is fantastic! So I let him know that I used to Admin this site and found that talking and posting here was very helpful. I signed up for Child Development first, knowing that eventually, I will face Death and Dying and Grief courses.  It concerns me a bit, but I know I will get through them and hopefully, I will be in a position to tell a grieving parent one day "I know what you are going through - I too, have lost a child".  That is the one thing I noticed quickly about our crisis counselor.  She had no idea of what we were feeling because she had never experienced that loss.